Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Virginia Data Advisory Commission

  • Description: The Virginia Data Advisory Commission, an advisory commission in the executive branch of state government, advises the Office of Data Governance and Analytics on issues related to data sharing including open data, data analytics, and data governance. The Commission (i) sets, plans, and prioritizes data sharing performance goals for the Commonwealth, (ii) reviews agency accomplishments, and (iii) recommends solutions that will establish the Commonwealth as a national leader in data-driven policy, evidence-based decision making, and outcome-based performance management. The Commission has the following powers and duties: (1) promoting and facilitating, subject to all applicable federal and state laws, rules, and regulations, the secure and appropriate sharing and use of data assets in the Commonwealth in support of data-driven policy making, research, analysis, study, and economic development; (2) maximizing the value and utility of Commonwealth data-related investments and assets; (3) promoting increased data sharing between state agencies and localities that provides tangible operational improvements in assisting state agencies and localities to fulfill their missions in a more coordinated, cost-efficient manner; (4) leveraging government data, using appropriate security and privacy standards, to support evidence-based policy making that addresses high-priority public policy issues; (5) providing for public access to certain data assets, where lawful and appropriate, to enhance research, innovation, and insight; and (6) making any other recommendations deemed necessary related to performance goals and objectives to require engagement from organizations across the Commonwealth.
  • Expiration Date: July 1, 2024
  • Staff Contact:

    Chief Data Officer of the Commonwealth; (804) 786-1201

All members appointed by Speaker of the House. Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable C. E. (Cliff) Hayes Jr.
The Honorable Josh Thomas
The Honorable Ian T. Lovejoy
All members appointed by Senate Committee on Rules. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable Adam P. Ebbin
Vacancy (Barker, The Honorable George L.) Senate Committee on Rules  
Vacancy (Hanger, The Honorable Emmett W. Jr.) Senate Committee on Rules  
Citizen Members:
Name Representing Appointed By Term
7 Citizens Governor  
Ex Officio Members:
Name Title
Karl R. Hade Executive Secretary, Virginia Supreme Court
Megan Healy Ph.D Chief Workforce Advisor
Carlos Rivero Chief Data Officer
The Honorable Keyanna Conner Secretary of Administration (former)
The Honorable John Littel Secretary of Health and Human Resources
The Honorable Terrance Cole Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security
The Honorable Stephen E. Cummings Secretary of Finance
The Honorable Kelly Thomasson
The Honorable Matthew J. Lohr Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry
The Honorable Andrew Wheeler Secretary of Natural and Historic Resources
The Honorable Caren Merrick Secretary of Commerce and Trade
The Honorable Aimee Rogstad Guidera Secretary of Education
Craig Crenshaw Secretary of Veterans and Defense Affairs
The Honorable W. Sheppard Miller III Secretary of Transportation
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 3 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 3 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 1
Max # Ex Officio: 14
Subscribe | All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2024 Commonwealth of Virginia