Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Central Virginia Transportation Authority

    » 33.2-3702
    » Website
  • Description: Authority administers transportation funding for counties, cities, and towns located in Planning District 15 that is generated through the imposition of an additional regional sales and use tax and a wholesale gas tax. Reviews the governance structure of existing transit service in the Richmond region and will evaluate the possibility of creating a transportation district.
  • Staff Contact:

    Chet Parsons, 804.924.7039,

All members appointed by Speaker of the House. Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable Rae C. Cousins
All members appointed by Senate Committee on Rules. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable Ghazala F. Hashmi
Citizen Members:
Name Representing Appointed By Term
1 Citizen Governor  
Ex Officio Members:
Name Title
Stephen C. Brich Commissioner of Highways
Jennifer Mitchell Director, Department of Rail and Public Transportation
Joi Taylor Dean Chief Executive Officer, Richmond Metropolitan Transportation Authority
Julie Timm Chief Executive Officer, Greater Richmond Transit Company
Stephen A. Edwards Executive Director, Virginia Port Authority
Additional Members: Additional members include the chief elected officer, or his designee, of the governing body of each of the counties embraced by Planning District 15 and the chief elected officer, or his designee, of the City of Richmond and the Town of Ashland. 2022 - CEO, Capitol Region Airport Commission added as ex-officio

Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 1 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 1 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 1
Max # Ex Officio: 5
Subscribe | All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2024 Commonwealth of Virginia