Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Interstate 81 Committee

    » ยง 33.2-3603
    » Website
  • Description: Creates an Interstate 81 Committee, tasked with developing and updating a program related to Interstate 81 Corridor safety and improvements, and creates an Interstate 81 Corridor Improvement Fund (Fund). 3. That the Interstate 81 Committee (the Committee) created by this act shall review the Interstate 81 Corridor Improvement Plan adopted by the Commonwealth Transportation Board on December 5, 2018, as it relates to funding options for improvements to the Interstate 81 corridor and the prioritization of projects in the Interstate 81 corridor. The Committee shall conduct regional public meetings on options for funding and improvements and seek input from the public and stakeholder organizations. The Committee shall report to the Governor and the General Assembly by December 15, 2019, regarding its recommendations for funding and prioritization of projects.
  • Staff Contact:

    Ronique Day, Deputy Director, Intermodal Planning and Investment, Office of the Secretary of Transportation,

All members appointed by Speaker of the House. Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable Sam Rasoul
The Honorable Terry L. Austin
The Honorable Jason S. Ballard
The Honorable William D. (Bill) Wiley
All members appointed by Senate Committee on Rules. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable Mark D. Obenshain
The Honorable David R. Suetterlein
The Honorable T. Travis Hackworth
Ex Officio Members:
Name Title
Jennifer Mitchell Director, Department of Rail and Public Transportation
Stephen C. Brich Commissioner of Highways
Additional Members: The Committee shall be composed of 15 voting members and two ex officio members as follows: 1.The chairs of planning district commissions for Planning Districts 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7,or in the discretion of a chairman, his designee, who shall be a current elected official serving on such commission; 2. Four members of the House of Delegates, each of whom resides in Planning District 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7, to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates. None of the four members shall live in the same planning district; 3. Three members of the Senate, each of whom resides in Planning District 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7, to be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules. None of the three members shall live in the same planning district; 4. The three members of the Board representing the Bristol, Salem, and Staunton highway construction districts; and 5. The Commissioner of Highways and the Director of the Department of Rail and PublicTransportation shall serve ex officio with nonvoting privileges . E. The Committee shall elect a chairman and vice-chairman from among its membership.A majority of the members shall constitute a quorum.

Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 4 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 3 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 0
Max # Ex Officio: 2
All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2024 Commonwealth of Virginia