Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Early Childhood Care and Education, Joint Subcommittee

  • Description: to (i) review the cost-effectiveness of federal and state funding used to improve Virginia's early childhood care and education system, (ii) ensure that the transition of child care regulation from the Board of Social Services to the Board of Education occurs seamlessly without impacting health and safety oversight functions, (iii) ensure that the transition of functions from the Department of Social Services to the Department of Education occurs seamlessly without the interruption of the provision of state services or undue impact on the operation of either agency, (iv) review the implementation of the Board of Education's Quality Rating Implementation System, (v) review workforce needs for Virginia's early childhood education system, (vi) further facilitate partnerships between school divisions and private providers for the Virginia Preschool Initiative, (vii) consider recommendations and options included in the 2017 JLARC report on Improving Virginia's Early Childhood Development Programs, and (viii) consider funding methodology changes to transition the Virginia Preschool Initiative funding model to maximize the number of children served, while recognizing prevailing costs.
  • Report Date: A report of any preliminary findings and recommendations shall be submitted to the Chairmen of House Appropriations and Senate Finance Committees by November 1, 2018.
  • Staff Contact:

    Zachk Robbins, House Appropriations Committee Staff, 804-698-1590
    Tyler Williams, Senate Finance Committee Staff, 804-698-7480

All members appointed by Chair of House Appropriations . Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable Kenneth R. Plum
The Honorable Delores L. McQuinn
Vacancy (Davis, The Honorable Glenn R. Jr.) Chair of House Appropriations  
Vacancy (Jones, The Honorable Jerrauld C. (Jay)) Chair of House Appropriations  
Vacancy (Hurst, The Honorable Chris L.) Chair of House Appropriations  
All members appointed by Chair, Senate Committee on Finance and Appropriations. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable Janet D. Howell
The Honorable Richard L. Saslaw
The Honorable L. Louise Lucas
The Honorable Stephen D. Newman
Vacancy (McClellan, The Honorable Jennifer L.) Chair, Senate Committee on Finance and Appropriations  
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 5 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 5 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 0
Max # Ex Officio: 0
All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2023 Commonwealth of Virginia