Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Women of Virginia, Commemorative Commission to Honor the Contributions of the

    » SJR 11, 2010
    » SR 76, 2014
    » Website
  • Description: The Commission shall determine and recommend to the General Assembly an appropriate monument in Capitol Square to commemorate the contributions of the women of Virginia. The Commission shall seek private funding for the operation and support of the Commission and the erection of an appropriate monument.
  • Workgroups:

  • Report Date: Until completion of the Commission's work or the erection of the monument, whichever occurs later; the Commission shall report annually by December 1 the status of its work, including any findings and recommendations, to the General Assembly.
  • Qualifications: 2018 - Reconstitutes the Virginia Women's Monument Commission by (i) adding to the membership the Architectural Historian of the Capitol Square Preservation Council; (ii) allowing the Governor, the Speaker of the House of Delegates, the Secretary of Administration, and the Librarian of Virginia to appoint a designee to serve in their place; (iii) allowing the chair to designate three emeritus members to serve without voting privileges; and (iv) granting ex officio members voting rights privileges. The resolution also provides that the dedication of the monument shall be coordinated by the Clerk of the Senate, the Clerk of the House of Delegates, and the Secretary of Administration.
  • Staff Contact:

    Lindley Griffin, Senate Committee Operations,

Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
Name Appointed By
The Honorable Don Scott By Statute
The Honorable Betsy B. Carr Speaker of the House
Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
Name Appointed By
The Honorable Mamie E. Locke, Chair, Senate Committee on Rules By Statute
The Honorable Ryan T. McDougle Senate Committee on Rules
Citizen Members:
Name Representing Appointed By Term
Mrs. J. W. Abel-Smith Speaker of the House  
Mrs. Herbert Augustine Claiborne Speaker of the House  
The Honorable Mary Margaret Whipple Speaker of the House  
Mrs. Lissy S. Bryan Senate Committee on Rules  
Mrs. Jacqueline Cook Hedblom Governor  
Ms. EJ Scott Governor  
Ms. Krysta N. Jones Governor  
The Honorable Lisa M. Hicks-Thomas Senate Committee on Rules  
Ex Officio Members:
Name Title
The Honorable Glenn Younkin Governor
The Honorable Susan Clarke Schaar Clerk, Virginia Senate
The Honorable G. Paul Nardo Clerk, Virginia House of Delegates
Dr. Sandra Treadway Librarian of Virginia, Library of Virginia
The Honorable Keyanna Conner Secretary of Administration (former)
Colleen D. Messick Executive Director, Virginia Capitol Foundation
The Honorable Nancy Rodrigues Former Secretary of Administration
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 2 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 2 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 8
Max # Ex Officio: 7
Subscribe | All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2024 Commonwealth of Virginia