Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Virginia Tribes, Commission on Updating Virginia Law to Reflect Federal Recognition of,

  • Description: For the purpose of performing a comprehensive review of Virginia law to assess ways in which it must be revised to reflect the government-to-government relationship the Commonwealth should maintain, by treaty and applicable federal law, with the sovereign, self-governing, federally recognized Tribal Nations located within the present-day external boundaries of the Commonwealth.
  • Report Date: No later than the first day of each regular session of the General Assembly
  • Expiration Date: July 1, 2026
All members appointed by Speaker of the House. Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable Paul E. Krizek
The Honorable Delores L. McQuinn
The Honorable Scott A. Wyatt
The Honorable Marcus B. Simon
The Honorable Shelly A. Simonds
The Honorable Ellen H. Campbell
All members appointed by Senate Committee on Rules. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable David W. Marsden
The Honorable Ryan T. McDougle
The Honorable Mark J. Peake
Vacancy (Cosgrove, The Honorable John A. Jr.) Senate Committee on Rules  
Citizen Members:
Name Representing Appointed By Term
Dr. Catherine Lee Porter A representative of the Commonwealth's scholarly community Senate Committee on Rules Expires 06/30/2024
Morgan Faulkner Upper Mattaponi Tribe Speaker of the House Expires 06/30/2025
Chief Anne Richardson Rappahannock Tribe Speaker of the House Expires 06/30/2025
Ex Officio Members:
Name Title
The Honorable Kay Coles James Secretary of the Commonwealth
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 6 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 4 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 8
Max # Ex Officio: 1
Subscribe | All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2024 Commonwealth of Virginia