Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Secure and Resilient Commonwealth Panel

  • Description: To monitor and assess the implementation of statewide prevention, preparedness, response, and recovery initiatives and where necessary to review, evaluate, and make recommendations relating to the emergency preparedness of government at all levels in the Commonwealth. Additionally, the Panel shall facilitate cabinet-level coordination among the various agencies of state government related to emergency preparedness and shall facilitate private sector preparedness and communication.
  • Staff Contact:

    The Honorable Brian J. Moran, Secretary of PublicSafety and Homeland Security,
    Shawn Talmadge, Assistant Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security

Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
Name Appointed By
The Honorable Patrick A. Hope By Statute
The Honorable Lashrecse D. Aird Speaker of the House
The Honorable Hala S. Ayala Speaker of the House
The Honorable C. Todd Gilbert Speaker of the House
All members appointed by Senate Committee on Rules. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable George L. Barker, Chair, Senate General Laws and Technology Committee
The Honorable Adam P. Ebbin
The Honorable Bryce E. Reeves
The Honorable Jeremy S. McPike
Citizen Members:
Name Representing Appointed By Term
Margaret Vanderhye Senate Committee on Rules Expires 06/30/2022
Jeffrey L. McWaters Senate Committee on Rules Expires 06/30/2023
Mr. John P. Guevara Speaker of the House Expires 06/30/2022
Mr. Jon Check Speaker of the House Expires 06/30/2023
15 Citizens Governor  
Ex Officio Members:
Name Title
The Honorable Justin E. Fairfax Lieutenant Governor
The Honorable Mark R. Herring Attorney General
The Honorable Brian Moran Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security
The Honorable Karl R. Hade Executive Secretary, Supreme Court of Virginia
The Honorable Carlos Hopkins Secretary of Veterans and Defense Affairs
The Honorable Brian Ball Secretary of Commerce and Trade
The Honorable Shannon Valentine Secretary of Transportation
The Honorable Vanessa Walker Harris , M.D. Secretary of Health and Human Resources
The Honorable Keyanna Conner Secretary of Administration (former)
Curtis Brown State Coordinator of Emergency Management
Gary Settle Superintendent, State Police
Major General Daniel E. Long Jr. Adjutant General or designee
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 4 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 4 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 19
Max # Ex Officio: 12
All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2022 Commonwealth of Virginia