Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Joint Subcommittee on Tax Policy

  • Description: The goals and objectives of the Joint Subcommittee shall include (i) evaluating the fiscal impact of amendments to tax brackets, tax rates, credits, deductions, and exemptions, as well as any other factors it deems relevant to making Virginia's individual income tax system more fair and equitable; (ii) giving consideration to the fairness, certainty, convenience of payment, economy in collection, simplicity, neutrality, and economic efficiency of the Commonwealth's tax policies and any changes thereto; and (iii) recommending whether the General Assembly should amend the Code of Virginia.
  • Report Date: None specified
  • Qualifications: The Chair of the Senate Finance and Appropriations Committee shall appoint six members from the Senate Committee on Finance and Appropriations and the Chair of the House Appropriations Committee shall appoint three members from the House Committee on Appropriations and three members of the House Committee on Finance to a Joint Subcommittee on Tax Policy. The Joint Subcommittee shall elect a chairman and vice-chairman from among its membership. To assist the Joint Subcommittee, the Chair of the Joint Subcommittee may appoint a workgroup which includes the staff of the House Committee on Finance, the House Committee on Appropriations, the Senate Committee on Finance and Appropriations, and any other stakeholders deemed appropriate. All agencies of the Commonwealth shall provide technical assistance to the Joint Subcommittee, upon request.
  • Staff Contact:

    House Committee Operations, (804) 698-1540; April Kees and Charles Kennington, Senate Finance Committee Staff, (804) 698-7480

All members appointed by Chair of House Appropriations . Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable Barry D. Knight, Chair, House Appropriations Committee
The Honorable Terry L. Austin, Member of House Appropriations Committee
The Honorable Roxann L. Robinson, Chair, House Finance
The Honorable Joseph P. McNamara, Member of House Finance Committee
The Honorable Vivian E. Watts, Member of House Finance Committee
The Honorable Luke E. Torian, Member of House Appropriations Committee
All members appointed by Chair, Senate Committee on Finance and Appropriations. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable Janet D. Howell
The Honorable Thomas K. Norment Jr.
The Honorable Jill Holtzman Vogel
The Honorable George L. Barker
The Honorable R. Creigh Deeds
The Honorable Adam P. Ebbin
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 6 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 6 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 0
Max # Ex Officio: 0
Subscribe | All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2022 Commonwealth of Virginia