Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Criminal Sentencing Commission

    » Code ยง 17.1-802
    » Website
  • Description: To develop discretionary sentencing guidelines to achieve the goals of certainty, consistency, and adequacy of punishment with due regard to the seriousness of the offense, the dangerousness of the offender, deterrence of individuals from committing criminal offenses,and the use of alternative sanctions, where appropriate.
  • Report Date: Annually
  • Staff Contact:

    Meredith Farrar-Owens,

All members appointed by Chair of House Courts of Justice. Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable Leslie R. (Les) Adams
All members appointed by By Statute. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable Bryce E. Reeves, Designee, Chairman, Senate Committee for Courts of Justice
Citizen Members:
Name Representing Appointed By Term
James S. Yoffy Senate Committee on Rules Expires 12/31/2020
James Paul Fisher Speaker of the House Expires 12/31/2021
Mr. James E. Plowman Speaker of the House Expires 06/30/2020
Edward L. Hogshire, Chair Chief Justice, Virginia Supreme Court  
6 Judges or Justices Chief Justice, Virginia Supreme Court  
4 Citizens Governor  
Ex Officio Members:
Name Title
The Honorable Mark R. Herring Attorney General
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 1 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 1 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 14
Max # Ex Officio: 1
All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.0.0

©2013-2019 Commonwealth of Virginia