Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Health Insurance Reform Commission

    » Code ยง 30-339
    » Website
  • Description: Monitor the work of appropriate federal and state agencies in implementing the provisions of the federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, including amendments thereto and regulations promulgated thereunder (the Act).
  • Report Date: Annual executive summary of the interim activity and work of the Commission no later than the first day of each regular session of the General Assembly.
  • Qualifications: Legislative members must be members of their respective Committees on Commerce and Labor.
  • Staff Contact:

    Gillian Conway, Senate Committee Operations,
    Tom Stevens, Division of Legislative Services,
    Marvi Ali, Division of Legislative Services,

All members appointed by Speaker of the House. Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable R. Lee Ware, Member, House Committee on Labor & Commerce
The Honorable Joseph P. McNamara, Member, House Committee on Commerce and Energy
The Honorable Richard C. (Rip) Sullivan Jr., Member, House Committee on Commerce and Energy
Vacancy (Byron, The Honorable Kathy J.) Speaker of the House  
All members appointed by Senate Committee on Rules. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable George L. Barker, Chair
The Honorable Richard L. Saslaw, Member, Senate Commerce and Labor Committee
The Honorable Scott A. Surovell, Member, Senate Commerce and Labor Committee
The Honorable Lionell Spruill Sr., Member, Senate Commerce and Labor Committee
Ex Officio Members:
Name Title
The Honorable John Littel Secretary of Health and Human Resources
Scott White Commissioner of Insurance, Bureau of Insurance - State Corporation Commission
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 4 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 4 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 0
Max # Ex Officio: 2
Subscribe | All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2023 Commonwealth of Virginia