Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Joint Commission on Transportation Accountability

    » Code ยง 30-282
    » Website
  • Description: To make performance reviews of operations of state agencies with transportation responsibilities to ascertain that sums appropriated have been or are being expended for the purposes for which they were made and to evaluate the effectiveness of programs in accomplishing legislative intent; 2. To study, on a continuing basis, the operations, practices, and duties of state agencies with transportation responsibilities as they relate to efficiency in the use of space, personnel, equipment, and facilities; 3. To retain such consultants and advisers as the Commission deems necessary to evaluate financial and project management of state agencies with transportation responsibilities; 4. To make such special studies of and reports on the operations and functions of state agencies with transportation responsibilities as it deems appropriate and as may be requested by the General Assembly; 5. To review actions of the Commonwealth Transportation Board; and 6. To make recommendations to the General Assembly on necessary transportation legislation.
  • Qualifications: Six members of the House of Delegates appointed by the Speaker of the House, of whom at least three shall be members of the House Committee on Transportation. Four members of the Senate appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules of whom at least two shall be members of the Senate Committee on Transportation.
  • Staff Contact:

    Emma Buck, Division of Legislative Services (804 - 698 - 1818
    Barbara Teague, House Committee Operations, (804) 698-1540

All members appointed by Speaker of the House. Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable Eileen Filler-Corn, Member, House Transportation Committee
The Honorable Vivian E. Watts
The Honorable David A. LaRock
Vacancy (Yancey, The Honorable David E.) Speaker of the House  
Vacancy (Hugo, The Honorable Timothy D.) Speaker of the House  
Vacancy (Garrett, The Honorable T. Scott) Speaker of the House  
All members appointed by Senate Committee on Rules. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable R. Creigh Deeds
The Honorable David R. Suetterlein
The Honorable Thomas K. Norment Jr.
Vacancy (Carrico, The Honorable Charles W. Sr.) Senate Committee on Rules  
Ex Officio Members:
Name Title
Martha Mavredes Auditor of Public Accounts
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 6 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 4 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 0
Max # Ex Officio: 1
Subscribe | All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.2.0

©2013-2020 Commonwealth of Virginia