Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Local Government Fiscal Stress, Joint Subcommittee on

  • Description: The goals and objectives of the Joint Subcommittee will be to review (i) savings opportunities from increased regional cooperation and consolidation of services, including by jointly operating or merging small school divisions; (ii) local responsibilities for service delivery of state-mandated or high priority programs, (iii) causes of fiscal stress among local governments, (iv) potential financial incentives and other governmental reforms to encourage increased regional cooperation; and (v) the different taxing authorities of cities and counties.
  • Report Date: The Joint Subcommittee shall submit to the Division of Legislative Automated Systems an executive summary of its findings and recommendations no later than the first day of the next Regular Session of the General Assembly for each year.
  • Staff Contact:

    J. Adam Rosatelli, Legislative Fiscal Analyst, Senate Finance Committee

    Administrative staff support shall be provided by the Office of the Clerks of the House and Senate. The Joint Subcommittee may seek support and technical assistance from the staff of the Division of Legislative Services, House Appropriations and Senate Finance Committees, and the Commission on Local Government. All agencies of the Commonwealth shall provide assistance to the Joint Subcommittee for this study, upon request.

All members appointed by Chair of House Appropriations . Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable S. Chris Jones
The Honorable R. Lee Ware
The Honorable Robert D. Orrock Sr.
The Honorable L. Nick Rush
The Honorable Lashrecse D. Aird
The Honorable Christopher K. Peace
All members appointed by Co-Chairs, Senate Committee on Finance . Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable Thomas K. Norment Jr.
The Honorable Emmett W. Hanger Jr.
The Honorable Richard L. Saslaw
The Honorable Charles W. Carrico Sr.
The Honorable Rosalyn R. Dance
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 6 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 5 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 0
Max # Ex Officio: 0
Subscribe | All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.0.0

©2013-2019 Commonwealth of Virginia