Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Virginia Commissioners for Promotion of Uniformity of Legislation

  • Description: It shall be the duty of such Commissioners to examine subjects on which uniformity is desirable, to ascertain the best means to effect uniformity in the laws of the states, and to represent the Commonwealth in conventions of like Commissioners appointed by other states to consider and draft uniform laws to be submitted for adoption by the several states, and to devise and recommend such other course of action as shall best accomplish the purpose of this chapter.
  • Report Date: July 1 annually
  • Expiration Date: None specified
  • Qualifications: Each of the appointed Commissioners shall hold office at the pleasure of the Governor, and excepting life members and the Director of the Division of Legislative Services, shall serve for a term of four years. Vacancies shall be filled by the Governor for unexpired terms.
  • Staff Contact:

    Emma Buck, DLS Counsel, (804) 698-1818,

Citizen Members:
Name Representing Appointed By Term
Lane Kneedler, Chair Life Member  
Tom Edmonds Governor  
David Hallock Governor  
Chris Nolen Governor  
Mary Devine Life Member  
Ellen Dyke Life Member  
E. M. Miller, Jr. Life Member  
Connie Ring Life Member  
Ex Officio Members:
Name Title
Amigo Wade Director, Division of Legislative Services
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 0 Appointment Coincident With House Term? NO
Max # Senate: 0 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? NO
Max # Citizens: 8
Max # Ex Officio: 1
Subscribe | All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2024 Commonwealth of Virginia