Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Commission to Study Slavery and Subsequent De Jure and De Facto Racial and Economic Discrimination Against African Americans

    » HB1519 (2020)
    » HB139 (2022)
    » Website
  • Description: To study the current impact and long-term inequities of slavery and subsequent de jure and de facto racial and economic discrimination against African Americans
  • Workgroups:

  • Report Date: Annually
  • Expiration Date: July 1, 2024
  • Staff Contact:

    Dominique Luster
    Project Manager
    Library of Virginia

All members appointed by Speaker of the House. Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable Delores L. McQuinn, Chair
The Honorable Joshua G. Cole
All members appointed by Senate Committee on Rules. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable Mamie E. Locke, Vice Chair
Citizen Members:
Name Representing Appointed By Term
Dr. Jody Allen Governor  
Dr. Edward L. Ayers Governor  
Dr. Andrea Douglas Governor  
Dr. John Kinney Governor  
Dr. Cassandra L. Newby-Alexander Governor  
Xavier Richardson Governor  
Dr. Karen Sherry Governor  
Daniel P. Watkins Governor  
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 2 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 1 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 8
Max # Ex Officio: 0
Subscribe | All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2024 Commonwealth of Virginia