Interim Studies & Commission Listings

House Courts of Justice

    House Standing Committee
  • Description: Considers matters relating to the Courts of the Commonwealth including the nominations of judges and justices where provided by the Constitution and statutes of Virginia; and all matters concerning the criminal laws of the Commonwealth. The committee’s jurisdiction also includes matters concerning contracts; juvenile and domestic relations; eminent domain; fiduciaries; garnishments; magistrates, mechanics' and other liens; notaries public and out-of-state Commissioners; property and conveyances; as well as wills and estates.
  • Staff Contact:

    Britt Olwine, Division of Legislative Services, 804-698-1815 Taylor Mey Division of Legislative Services, 804-698-1870

All members appointed by Speaker of the House. Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable Charniele L. Herring, Chair
The Honorable Vivian E. Watts, Vice Chair
The Honorable Patrick A. Hope
The Honorable Mark L. Keam
The Honorable Marcus B. Simon
The Honorable Richard C. (Rip) Sullivan Jr.
The Honorable Mark H. Levine
The Honorable Stephen E. Heretick
The Honorable Michael P. Mullin
The Honorable Jeffrey M. Bourne
The Honorable Karrie K. Delaney
The Honorable Nancy D. Guy
The Honorable Don L. Scott Jr.
The Honorable Terry G. Kilgore
The Honorable Robert B. Bell
The Honorable James E. Edmunds II
The Honorable Margaret B. Ransone
The Honorable James A. (Jay) Leftwich Jr.
The Honorable Leslie R. (Les) Adams
The Honorable Jeffrey L. Campbell
The Honorable Jason S. Miyares
The Honorable Carrie E. Coyner
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 22 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 0 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 0
Max # Ex Officio: 0
Subscribe | All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.1

©2013-2021 Commonwealth of Virginia