Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Roanoke Higher Education Authority

    » Code §23.1-3115
    » Website
  • Description: To expand access to higher education in the Roanoke Valley by providing for adult and continuing education and degree-granting programs, including undergraduate, graduate and professional programs, through partnerships with the Commonwealth's public and private institutions of higher education.
  • Staff Contact:

    Kay Dunkley – Executive Director, Roanoke Higher Education Authority, 108 North Jefferson Street, Suite 210, Roanoke, VA 24011, (540) 767-6007,

All members appointed by Speaker of the House. Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable Sam Rasoul
The Honorable Joseph P. McNamara
All members appointed by Senate Committee on Rules. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable David R. Suetterlein
Citizen Members:
Name Representing Appointed By Term
5 Citizens Governor  
Ex Officio Members:
Name Title
David Doré Chancellor, Virginia Community College System
A. Scott Fleming Director, State Council of Higher Education
Jonathan R. Alger President, James Madison University
Michael Rao President, Virginia Commonwealth University
Dr. Timothy Sands President, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
John R. Broderick President, Old Dominion University
Dr. Tiffany M. Franks President, Averett University
Dr. Pamela Fox President, Mary Baldwin College
Dr. Brian O. Hemphill President, Radford University
James E. Ryan President, University of Virginia
Dr. Robert H. Sandel President, Virginia Western Community College
Jo Nelson Director, Total Action for Progress (TAP) This Valley Works
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 2 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 1 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 5
Max # Ex Officio: 12
All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2024 Commonwealth of Virginia