Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Southwest Virginia Health Authority

  • Description: The Authority may acquire, construct, equip, establish, improve, maintain, and/or operate hospitals or health centers and may condemn property and issue bonds and other obligations for such purpose.
  • Staff Contact:

    Delilah McFadden,, 276-415-3367

All members appointed by Speaker of the House. Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable Terry G. Kilgore
Vacancy (Pillion, The Honorable Todd E.) Speaker of the House  
All members appointed by Senate Committee on Rules. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable Charles W. Carrico Sr.
The Honorable A. Benton Chafin Jr.
Citizen Members:
Name Representing Appointed By Term
9 Citizens By Statute  
Additional Members: Citizens members include a representatives from Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Scott, Tazewell and Wise Counties, the City of Norton and Lonesome Pine Hospital. Citizen members also include the Executive Director of Coalfield Economic Development Authority, the Chief Executive Officer of Norton Community Hospital, the Chief Executive Officer of Virginia Community Healhcare Association, the Chief Executive Officer of Russell County Medical Center, the District Health Director of Cumberland Plateau Health District, the District Health Director of LENOWISCO Health District, the Dean of the University of Virginia School of Medicine, the Dean of School of Dentistry at MCV, the Chancellor of the University of Virginia's College at Wise, the Dean of Lincoln Memorial University- DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine and Chairman of Board of Southwest Virginia Graduate Medical Education Consortium.

Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 2 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 2 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 9
Max # Ex Officio: 0
All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.2.0

©2013-2020 Commonwealth of Virginia