Interim Studies & Commission Listings

School Safety, House Select Committee on

  • Description: The committee’s scope of work will be limited to strengthening emergency preparedness, hardening school security infrastructure, implementing security best practices, deploying additional security personnel, providing additional behavioral health resources for students, and developing prevention protocols at primary and secondary institutions across the Commonwealth.
  • Workgroups:

  • Report Date: The Select Committee will make policy recommendations for consideration by the General Assembly during the 2019 Session.
  • Expiration Date: November 15, 2018
  • Qualifications: The Select Committee will be comprised of 22 members of the House of Delegates and will reflect the principle of proportional representation.
  • Staff Contact:

    Cheryl Wilson, Deputy Clerk, Strategic Operations

All members appointed by Speaker of the House. Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable M. Kirkland Cox, Chair
The Honorable R. Steven Landes
The Honorable S. Chris Jones
The Honorable Thomas C. Wright Jr.
The Honorable Robert B. Bell
The Honorable Daniel W. Marshall III, Vice Chair
The Honorable C. Todd Gilbert
The Honorable Christopher K. Peace
The Honorable Barry D. Knight
The Honorable Roxann L. Robinson
The Honorable Israel D. O'Quinn
The Honorable L. Nick Rush
The Honorable Vivian E. Watts
The Honorable Mark D. Sickles
The Honorable David J. Toscano
The Honorable Charniele L. Herring
The Honorable Luke E. Torian
The Honorable Paul E. Krizek
The Honorable Stephen E. Heretick
The Honorable Michael P. Mullin
The Honorable Jeffrey M. Bourne
The Honorable Schuyler T. VanValkenburg
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 22 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 0 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 0
Max # Ex Officio: 0
Subscribe | All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA


©2013-2019 Commonwealth of Virginia