Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Higher Education, Joint Subcommittee on the Future Competitiveness of Virginia

  • Description: The Chairmen of the House Appropriations and Senate Finance Committees shall each appoint four members from their respective committees to a Joint Subcommittee on the Future Competitiveness of Virginia Higher Education to (a) review ways to maintain and improve the quality of higher education, while providing for broad access and affordability; (b) examine the impact of financial, demographic, and competitive changes on the sustainability of individual institutions and the system as a whole; (c) identify best practices to make the system more efficient, including shared services, institutional flexibility, and easily accessible academic pathways; (d) evaluate the use of distance education and online instruction across the Commonwealth and appropriate business models for such programs; (e) review current need-based financial aid programs and alternative models to best provide for student affordability and completion; (f) review the recommendations of the Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission on the study of the cost efficiency of higher education institutions and make recommendations to their respective committees on the implementation of those recommendations; (g) study the effectiveness and value of transfer students; (h) evaluate the effectiveness of dual enrollment in reducing the cost of higher education; and (i) study the effectiveness of preparing teachers to enter the K-12 system.
  • Report Date: The members of the Joint Subcommittee shall develop a two-year workplan for the review and assessment detailed above, and provide an interim report to their respective committees by November 1, 2016 and a final report by November 1, 2017.
  • Staff Contact:

    Tony Maggio, House Appropriations Committee Staff, 804-698-1590;
    Sarah Herzog, Senate Finance Committee Staff, 804-698-7480

All members appointed by Chair of House Appropriations . Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable Betsy B. Carr
The Honorable David A. Reid
Vacancy (Cox, The Honorable M. Kirkland) Chair of House Appropriations  
Vacancy (Jones, The Honorable Jerrauld C. (Jay)) Chair of House Appropriations  
All members appointed by Chair, Senate Committee on Finance and Appropriations. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable Janet D. Howell
The Honorable Richard L. Saslaw
The Honorable Thomas K. Norment Jr.
The Honorable Mamie E. Locke
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 4 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 4 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 0
Max # Ex Officio: 0
All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2022 Commonwealth of Virginia