Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Senate Local Government

  • Description: Meets on Tuesday afternoons when the General Assembly is in session. To consider matters of local government in the counties, cities, towns, regions or districts, planning boards and commissions and authorities, except matters relating to the compensation of elected officeholders, where funds of the Commonwealth are involved.
  • Workgroups:

  • Staff Contact:

    Michael "MJ" Jackson, Senate Committee Operations,, 804.698.7450
    Jeff Sharp, Division of Legislative Services,
    Anissa Cottrell, Division of Legislative Services,

All members appointed by Senate of Virginia. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable Lynwood W. Lewis Jr., Chair
The Honorable Emmett W. Hanger Jr.
The Honorable William M. Stanley Jr.
The Honorable Barbara A. Favola
The Honorable Bill DeSteph
The Honorable Siobhan S. Dunnavant
The Honorable Jeremy S. McPike
The Honorable Janet D. Howell
The Honorable Lionell Spruill Sr.
The Honorable Joseph D. Morrissey
The Honorable John J. Bell
The Honorable Ghazala F. Hashmi
The Honorable Bryce E. Reeves
The Honorable T. Travis Hackworth
The Honorable Aaron R. Rouse
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 0 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 15 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 0
Max # Ex Officio: 0
Subscribe | All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.3.2

©2013-2023 Commonwealth of Virginia