Interim Studies & Commission Listings

Standards of Learning Innovation Committee

    » ยง 22.1-253.13:10
  • Description: The Committee under the direction of the Secretary (of Education) periodically may make recommendations to the Board of Education and the General Assembly on (a) the Standards of Learning assessments, (b) authentic individual student growth measures, (c) alignment between the Standards of Learning and assessments and the School Performance Report Card, and (d) ideas on innovative teaching in the classroom.
  • Expiration Date: 7/1/2019
  • Qualifications: For non-legislative citizen appointments: The Secretary of Education upon receiving recommendations for appointments from the Virginia Parent Teacher Association, Virginia Education Association, Virginia School Boards Association, Virginia Association of Secondary School Principals, Virginia Association of Elementary School Principals, Virginia Association of School Superintendents, Virginia State Reading Association, Virginia School Counselor Association, and Virginia Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, shall establish and appoint members from each specified groups to the Standards of Learning Innovation Committee. At least one (iii) parent of a currently enrolled public school student, (iv) public elementary school teacher, (v) public secondary school teacher, (vi) public secondary school guidance counselor, (vii) school board member, (viii) public school principal, (ix) division superintendent, (x) curriculum and instruction specialist, (xi) higher education faculty member, (xii) business representative, and such other stakeholders as the Secretary deems appropriate. Members of the Committee should reflect geographic diversity and rural and urban school systems as far as practicable.
  • Staff Contact:

    Secretary of Education

All members appointed by Speaker of the House. Appointment coincident with House term.
House Members:
The Honorable Roxann L. Robinson
The Honorable David L. Bulova
The Honorable Glenn R. Davis Jr.
The Honorable R. Steven Landes
All members appointed by Senate Committee on Rules. Appointment coincident with Senate term.
Senate Members:
The Honorable Stephen D. Newman
The Honorable Ryan T. McDougle
The Honorable Jeremy S. McPike
Ex Officio Members:
Name Title
James F. Lane Superintendent of Public Instruction
President or designee Board of Education
Secretary or designee Department of Education
Membership and Term Information:
Max # House: 4 Appointment Coincident With House Term? YES
Max # Senate: 3 Appointment Coincident With Senate Term? YES
Max # Citizens: 0
Max # Ex Officio: 3
All Studies

Home | Help | FOIA

Version 4.0.0

©2013-2019 Commonwealth of Virginia